JFTC Essay Competition

Award Winners of JFTC Essay Competition 2017

December 8, 2017

Japan Foreign Trade Council, Inc. who sponsors the "JFTC Essay Competition 2017" is very pleased to announce that we received a total of 266 submissions from 64 different nationalities for the competition this year.
After a strict screening of all the essays, the four submissions below have been selected as the winners of the competition in 2017.
We would like to express our congratulations to the winners and thank all participants for taking part.

Selection Committee
Chair Mr. Atsushi Nakajima, Chairman, Research Institute of Economy, Trade and Industry, IAA
Vice Chair Ms. Kaori Iida, Los Angeles Bureau Chief, NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corporation)
Vice Chair Dr. Keiichiro Kobayashi, Professor, Faculty of Economics, Keio University

Remarks by Selection Committee Chair

The Prize for Excellence of 200,000 yen

"Is free trade the best policy?"
Ms. Anna Lee Ali (Trinidad and Tobago)

"The Japan-EU FTA – A blueprint for improving the global trade regime"
Dr. Jan-Ulrich Rothacher (Germany)

"Restructuring the Japanese Economy through Opening Markets – For Economic Growth in a Depopulating Society"
Ms. Sachiko Stone (Japan)

The Selection Committee Chair's Special Prize of 100,000 yen

"Free Trade: Satisfying the Double Co-incidence of Economic and Social Wants in the Twenty-First Century."
Ms.Surabhi Chaturvedi (India)

Essay Requirements

Subject "The Ideal Future Free Trade System – Tasks and Solutions –"
Language English or Japanese
Length English (2,000-4,000 words) or Japanese (5,000-10,000 characters).
Deadline September 8, 2017